hello_summer's Activity (549)

  • hello_summer
    hello_summer added a book review.
    It is so good, by the way there is a whole series of 'Anne' books but they are not as good as this one :(
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 added a book review.
    I finished this book in the early hour of 4 am and i was near crazy with sleep deprivation but dang. this book is definitely one of my must-reads. over all, this trilogy was one of the best i've ever read, it didn't lose its luster after the sequel, it stayed golden and wonderful. There is definitely mature content throughout the whole series. I thought Throne of Glass was targeted at maybe young teens, but Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire was definitely targeted towards more mature audiences. This book was stunning and I loved it. But there isn't any real ending, you don't know whether Aelin/Celeana actually wins the war and what about the witches? I'm really confused as to what they're meant for?? Definitely a good book, and you should really try this series out. PLUS THE COVERS ARE AMAZING
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 added a book review.
    To be perfectly honest, this isn't a great book. Guys, it's romance, it's your typical romance book mixed in with some danger and a jealous other girl.This is set in dystopian America, after some war tore the country apart and rebuilt everything. New America has castes and royalty, castes determine where you live and your lifestyle. They're very important. Ones are the richest people, the kings and queens. The lowest caste is Eight, the poorest of the poor. America Singer (main character) is a Five, still poor but not to the extent of starving. She gets chosen for The Selection (basically The Bachelor) and competes with other girls for Prince Maxon's affection. This book really irritates me in many, many ways. The way America thinks irks me so much. Her character is sarcastic and bratty. I love sarcastic characters (ehem, Magnus Bane, Alec Lightwood, Percy Jackson...) and I really did try to love America too. She is somewhat a relatable character, she is "real", as in; She loves food, she isn't a total air-head, she fights for the lower castes. She's got a likeable side to her but her other side overbalances everything and i end up hating her. Okay, at the start, she's all homesick, she didn't even want to be in The Selection. She tries to get out of her room because it "was suffocating her" and into the gardens. She meets Prince Maxon on the way as she tries to break out, they have this super long conversation (not really) which ends up in her being really rude and kicking him where boys don't like to be kicked. Then he escorts her to the gardens and they have this super long and boring conversation of what she likes and fiwbfihgfiewbgv. After a few more days/weeks, she's seen as a "favourite" of Maxon's. When Maxon starts hanging out with the other girls in the competition, she starts getting jealous and feels as if the "special thing" they once had was "broken" and he didn't like her anymore. She forgets that she's not the only girl in The Selection and it makes me so mad on so many different levels. I hated the main character. And it's so hard to like a book if you hate the person it revolves around.
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 added a book review.
    To be perfectly honest, this isn't a great book. Guys, it's romance, it's your typical romance book mixed in with some danger and a jealous other girl.This is set in dystopian America, after some war tore the country apart and rebuilt everything. New America has castes and royalty, castes determine where you live and your lifestyle. They're very important. Ones are the richest people, the kings and queens. The lowest caste is Eight, the poorest of the poor. America Singer (main character) is a Five, still poor but not to the extent of starving. She gets chosen for The Selection (basically The Bachelor) and competes with other girls for Prince Maxon's affection. This book really irritates me in many, many ways. The way America thinks irks me so much. Her character is sarcastic and bratty. I love sarcastic characters (ehem, Magnus Bane, Alec Lightwood, Percy Jackson...) and I really did try to love America too. She is somewhat a relatable character, she is "real", as in; She loves food, she isn't a total air-head, she fights for the lower castes. She's got a likeable side to her but her other side overbalances everything and i end up hating her. Okay, at the start, she's all homesick, she didn't even want to be in The Selection. She tries to get out of her room because it "was suffocating her" and into the gardens. She meets Prince Maxon on the way as she tries to break out, they have this super long conversation (not really) which ends up in her being really rude and kicking him where boys don't like to be kicked. Then he escorts her to the gardens and they have this super long and boring conversation of what she likes and fiwbfihgfiewbgv. After a few more days/weeks, she's seen as a "favourite" of Maxon's. When Maxon starts hanging out with the other girls in the competition, she starts getting jealous and feels as if the "special thing" they once had was "broken" and he didn't like her anymore. She forgets that she's not the only girl in The Selection and it makes me so mad on so many different levels. I hated the main character. And it's so hard to like a book if you hate the person it revolves around.
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 added a book review.
    A really good book! You should definitely try it
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33liked a comment in The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Book One).
    *SPOILERS* Newt dies, so does Teresa. The Maze Runner series gets progressively worse, as does any other trilogy, such as Divergent, The Hunger Games, The Selection, just to name a few. I'm not saying every single trilogy will die out, The Infernal Devices trilogy absolutely didn't. The Maze Runner was fabulous, one of my favourite [yes, I'm Australian] books, The Scorch Trials was okay, it wasn't too bad but it wasn't good. Then, The Death Cure, as expected there were a lot of deaths, [Allegiant, you went too far] and that was fine, but there wasn't that spark anymore. In the last book, the burning flame that was present in the first book was just reduced to dull embers. The Kill Order, which is a prequel to the whole TMR series, was a complete let down. It was honestly so boring, to me of course, a lot of people say that TKO was the best of James Dashner, but I obviously disagree. My friend couldn't get past chapter 21 whereas I couldn't get past even the first chapter. But wait, there's more, a sequel to the prequel! I think it's coming out late next year, I'm not sure, Instagram rumours aren't always true. It's called The Fever Code and as you can see, James Dashner has a very interesting theme to his book titles. Also, Teresa's real name is Deedee. DEEDEE. Am I heavily disappointed? Yeah, you could say that.
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 has read this book.
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 has read this book.
    By Kiera Cass
    Over 4 years ago
  • ness33
    ness33 has read this book.
    Over 4 years ago
  • hello_summer
    hello_summer added a book review.
    Thrilling. Good Dystopian novel Lots of violence Good for fans of Legend, The Hunger Games. I don't fangirl over this. It's not that good....
    Over 4 years ago

Badges (11)

First BookFirst Favorite News ArticleFirst Favorite WebsiteCreate an AvatarWrote First Book ReviewWrote 10 Book ReviewsWrote 25 Book ReviewsFirst MovieWrote 10 Movie ReviewsJoined MIDDLE SCHOOL Series Book ClubJoined James Patterson's Kids Book Club

Following (2)

hyper_monkey
ness33

Followers (45)

hyper_monkey
jd319
ness33
fireman10956
frankiebaby
zuza
lucy_heartfilia
followmepeople
doglover547
lorie34
redflower1975
nocats
cowgirl123
megannz
frankybaby
animaljam
animaljamz
iceluigi
richdude
follower
View All

Most DOGO Points

RankNameScore
51borntoswim4039 points
53ck33900 points
54frankiebaby3863 points
55skydragon3769 points
56hello_summer3743 points
57alecia53648 points
58spinnypeeps3645 points
59bean_boy3639 points
60candyexpress3605 points