Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (2010)

Accident prone teenager, Percy discovers he's actually a demi-God, the son of Poseidon, and he is needed when Zeus' lightning is stolen. Percy must master his new found skills in order to prevent a war between the Gods that could devastate the entire world.

Directors: Chris Columbus

Cast: Logan Lerman, Brandon T. Jackson, Alexandra Daddario, Jake Abel, and Sean Bean

Release Date: February 11, 2010

485 Movie Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluegirl123
    bluegirl123Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 12:41 pm33 popcorn
    Hi! I'm going to be writing a review on the Movie Percy Jackson & the Olympians: the lightning Thief. So I thought That this movie it self was pretty good but when you compare it to the book there are so many differences, Like the way Annabeth looks and in the movie they made the characters a lot older then in the book. There where just A lot a things that were not the same. But other then that is was a fine movie that's why I'm giving it 3 popcorn
    • AbedaTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 10:00 am
      I liked this movie, but it was TOTALLY different from the actual Percy Jackson book. For example, the people look different from how they were described in the book, and Percy and Annabeth have extra weapons. The movie is nothing like the books, which is why I would give this 3/5 popcorn.
      • howls
        howlsThursday, June 25, 2020 at 7:14 am44 popcorn
        Percy Jackson is no ordinary teenager he's just learned he's the son of Poseidon and is accused of stealing Zeus lightning bolt the most powerful weapon ever created When storm clouds brewing Percy embarks on an incredible cross country journey to prove his innocence recover the bolt and prevent a war amongst the God's that could destroy our world! But it's not the same as the book
        • pjogeek
          pjogeekMonday, June 22, 2020 at 4:03 pm22 popcornFeatured
          I was very excited when they added this movie to Disney Plus. Rick Riordan is one of my fav authors, so I had really high hopes. But, the storyline as well as details that only true fans would catch, we’re wayyyy out of line, compared to the books. Issue 1. In the books, long story short, is that this kid discovers he’s a child of the Greek god, Poseidon. He was framed for stealing Zeus’s master bolt, and he has to travel across the world to save his mom from a prison in the Underworld. At one point in the book, the main character comes across a naiad, a water spirit, and she gives him 3 pearls that will teleport him and his friends out of the underworld. This happened after he fell off the St.Louis Arch. In the movie their whole quest was set around finding the pearls at locations like Auntie Um’s Garden Gnome Emporium, and the Lotus Hotel and Casino, where they did travel to in the book, but not for the same reason. Issue 2. In the books, Annabeth has one weapon- her Celestial Bronze dagger given to her by Luke when she was a kid. In the movie, I lost count of how many different weapons she seemed to have just pulled out of her pocket. In the earlier scenes, she’s pictured with a sword and shield. In later scenes she’s shown with both a regular bow and arrow, as well as a crossbow. And then at the end of the movie, she has her dagger!! I don’t understand!! Anyway, yea. Don’t go in thinking, “Oh this is going to be a perfect representation of the book.”. I liked it as a movie, but not as a tribute to the magic (no pun intended) of Rick Riordan’s “The Lightening Thief”.
          • swagboylolz
            swagboylolzTuesday, June 16, 2020 at 2:12 pm
            i loved this movie because it was just percy jackson which he is a modern day demigod, son of posidain god of the sea.
            • kotlcgirl
              kotlcgirlThursday, June 11, 2020 at 10:18 am55 popcorn
              I am a HUGE Percy Jackson fan and when I read all the negative comments everybody put on every website I looked at,I was like:"Okay,I shouldn't loose my time watching this",but I was surprised! Percy Jackson,16 years old,lives with his mother,Sally and Gabe Ugliano,a smelly,poker-lover stepfather.With his school,he goes to a trip to a museum.The usual.Then,he gets attacked by a real,flesh-and-blood monster! He survives the attack but he doesn't know this is the start of a terrifying, deathly journey with Grover Underwood and Annabeth Chase. This is what I thought after watching the movie: 1.The actors are great,especially Alexandra Daddario and Logan Lerman 2.The movie was very well done 3.The movie differs from the story (negative point) This is my favourite movie,and I'm excited to watch The Sea of Monsters!
              • effie302
                effie302Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 10:31 am
                this movie is so cool, I so am gonna recommend this one!
                • blueclaw
                  blueclawThursday, May 28, 2020 at 5:05 pm
                  Yay Percy Jackson!!
                  • annafantastic
                    annafantasticWednesday, May 27, 2020 at 1:48 am55 popcorn
                    This movie is sooo good! So percy goes to a camp for kids who are kids of gods and percy goes on a mission to find his mother but at the same time other people think he has the lightning bolt and is trying to escape.
                    • fantasyreader65
                      fantasyreader65Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:28 am33 popcorn
                      This movie was way different than the book. It was OK but it needed to have a lot more to do with the book.