Ralph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the InternetRalph Breaks the Internet
Ralph Breaks the Internet

Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018)

Video game bad guy Ralph and fellow misfit Vanellope von Schweetz must risk it all by traveling to the World Wide Web in search of a replacement part to save Vanellope's video game, "Sugar Rush." In way over their heads, Ralph and Vanellope rely on the citizens of the internet -- the netizens -- to help navigate their way, including an entrepreneur named Yesss, who is the head algorithm and the heart and soul of trend-making site BuzzzTube.

Release Date: November 21, 2018

425 Movie Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Susan Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 1:09 am
    Wow I Like it And I Like the Disney Princess
    • theindiancritic
      theindiancriticTuesday, June 9, 2020 at 3:29 am22 popcorn
      First things first. This movie will be thoroughly enjoyed by kids still in elementary school. But from start to finish, this movie feels cynical and has few redeeming qualities. The expressive nature of the strong character designs, the fluid, and technically impressive animation, and the aesthetics of a more rebellious cyberpunk world juxtaposed alongside a sterilized depiction of the Internet is what keeps this movie from being terrible in my eyes. Ooh, and the princess scene. Okay. The first movie is, in almost every single way, superior to the second. That's because it seems like Disney's out for money with this movie and wants to capitalize on the hip trends of today. Sure, it doesn't fare as badly as The Emoji Movie in any respect, but it's so much blander by comparison. The titular character of Ralph seems to have regressed so far from what seemed like the substantial character development in the first movie, while Vanellope has a more reasonable yet still frustratingly simple problem with Ralph. She wants Ralph to let go of her so she can be free to do more with her life and break free from the shackles of everyday monotony while Ralph is a clingy crybaby for the entirety of the movie. He wants to stick by Vanellope and live an unchanging life for as long as he can possibly manage, breaking any rule as long as Vanellope stays with him. This movie will directly contrive itself in order to stretch out this thin, shallow conflict for as long as it can while leaving these undeveloped characters in a state of turmoil and basically dropping all the prominent side characters of the first movie. Fix-it Felix and Sergeant Calhoun aren't needed by the script anymore and are replaced by others like Yesss and Shank, the latter of whom is more interesting just because of the artistically interesting nature of her environment. These two characters are only here to steal the two protagonists away, with Shank's potential fading as she becomes Vanellope's source of guidance and nothing more. Fix-it Felix was someone other than Vanellope that Ralph could share his troubles with in the first film, and we don't see any interactions where he doesn't behave incredibly dumb as opposed to the first film. Take King Candy from the first film as another example. Someone twisted by the elimination of their game, he goes from oppressive and seeking fame to one that's obsessed with power. The only villain in this movie is Ralph's insecurity, something he's supposed to have moved on from. Something broken by random internet comments that go "you're so bad" because of course it's got to have a clean censor rating. Not only does the film fail to make these main characters interesting with their new arcs, but they also aren't able to do it for any other character that makes an appearance in this film. Disney shifting from video games to an explorable internet seems like a movement in line with their remakes, a desperate attempt to become the woke dudes that sees the quality of these films devolve slightly. Don't be deceived by that world of Disney in which the princess scene takes place, or the Ralph mobile game advertisements, or the absolute memefest that is this movie. It's only better than the Emoji Movie in the sense that it's taking well-loved characters and building a new film in which they don't necessarily break said character. It's a marketing scheme that Disney financially benefits from in spades. Nowhere is this more apparent than the Ralph meme compilation that you'll only have the kids enjoying because it feels shoehorned in in order to appeal to the lowest common denominator. As evidenced by the first film, there are much better ways to do that.
      • annafantastic
        annafantasticSaturday, June 27, 2020 at 12:29 am44 popcorn
        I really like your reviews!
        • yururinpanda
          yururinpandaMonday, June 15, 2020 at 2:01 pm22 popcorn
          yo @theindiancritic crazy at reviews
        • HunterMonday, June 1, 2020 at 8:02 pm
          I like when ralph breaks the internet on sloter race
          • Alexz.raplyMonday, June 1, 2020 at 7:38 pm
            Its magical and cooler
            • mhkgc235
              mhkgc235Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 2:54 pm44 popcorn
              And yes is pretty cool. She kind of reminds me of one of my favourite singers, Mary J. Blige
              • mhkgc235
                mhkgc235Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 2:52 pm44 popcorn
                I really liked it. I thought it was very creative.
                • thewisdomoflife
                  thewisdomoflifeSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 10:03 pm
                  This movie is all right. I liked the fact that they went to the internet, it reminded me of how big the internet is. Basically some kids are playing on penelope 's game, when by accident break the steering wheel, so Ralph and Penelope go to the internet to go buy a new one, when they get their they see it getting auctioned, and not knowing that they had to pay the numbers they said, had to embark on a quest to get a cash load, etc.
                  • soroushFriday, May 15, 2020 at 1:44 pm
                    very very cool 😀😀
                    • JoeyFriday, May 15, 2020 at 12:21 pm
                      This movie is epic I love e wrecking Ralph he is so funny
                      • queen_strong
                        queen_strongFriday, May 15, 2020 at 12:10 pm55 popcorn
                        This movie is really fun! I love all the characters and how they incorporated all of our social media apps into an awesome setting. The movie really grabbed me in the beginning when vanellope lost her game and got all weird towards ralph. I liked all the new characters also. The movie was really funny and the creators of this movie really brought out vanellope and ralph's personalities. The movie overall had lots of great plots and settings. I love this movie! It's a great family movie.