The GiverThe GiverThe GiverThe GiverThe GiverThe GiverThe Giver
The Giver

The Giver (2014)

In a seemingly perfect community, without war, pain, suffering, differences or choice, a young boy is chosen to learn from an elderly man about the true pain and pleasure of the "real" world.

Release Date: August 15, 2014

159 Movie Reviews
Add a Rating
  • coolTuesday, May 14, 2019 at 10:23 am
    so cool
    • O.R.B.Friday, May 3, 2019 at 12:48 pm
      If movies about being different and experiencing new things interests you, The Giver is the movie for you. The movie, in my opinion, was better than the book fro many different reasons. If you read the book, there are going to be a few differences, but these make up in the end with a better sense of closure. There were things in the movie that were different from the book, and they were both good and bad. The changes affected the story differently, like how Fiona helped Jonas in the end had changed her life completely and this made the people think about what was happening. Fiona and Jonas got more of a romantic story structure in the movie when he convinced her to not take medication. Also, in the book, Asher was going to be the Assistant Director of Recreation, but he became Drone Pilot which had caused a different, but more exciting character in the movie, whereas in the book, he was more irrelevant. The movie helped visualize what you read, by having music in times of suspense and creating how the authors thought the community and the people looked. I would recommend this movie to kids, teenagers and adults because there are parts everyone would enjoy there wasn’t to much action, but plenty of enjoyable scenes. I would rate this a 8/10 on a scale.
      • TgFriday, May 3, 2019 at 11:12 am
        The movie wasn’t like the book and it kinda made me upset because many unnecessary things were added, and necessary thing from the book were taken out. Fiona in the book never helped Jonas and wasn’t about to be releasing. Asher was never a pilot in the book he was recreational director and it kinda annoyed me. Some of my favorite parts is when Jonas punch Asher in a the face and he was on the run from the elder. My least favorite part is when Jonas kiss Fiona.
        • B.PFriday, May 3, 2019 at 10:31 am
          The movie version of the book The Giver was good but it wasn’t as great as the book. If you like movies that are similar to their book but not completely the same this movie is for you. This is a movie based on a book but with a twist. Many details were changed in the movie. In my opinion the book was better than the movie. The book captured my attention more than the movie. The plot is similar. In the beginning Jonas is given the assignment of Receiver of Memory he learns many things that others in the community don’t know. He begins to view his community differently and decides he wants things to change. With the help of his 2 friends he accomplishes this. But something that stands out to someone who read the book previously is the age difference, in the movie Jonas almost seems like a young adult but in the book it seems as if he is only 12 years old. This was something that really confused me as I was watching the movie. Even though the movie is not too much like the book there is a good balance. If you are a kid you might like this better than an adult. In my option I would give this book a 4 out of 5 star rating.
          • J.C.Friday, May 3, 2019 at 10:16 am
            I thought the movie “The Giver” was neither good nor bad. The movie wasn’t bad, it was missing parts that were stated in the book and the movie added parts which made me confused. For example, in the book it stated that Jonas kinda liked Fiona but in the movie it showed that they really liked each other which changed a lot of the movie. The main point of the story revolves around how their community keeps a lot of secrets from them so they can live in peacefulness instead of chaos. When Jonas found out that information when he became the giver he disagreed and decided to take action. Another thing that was different, was that they made the chief elder seem mean by questioning people and the things she said but in the book it made her seem nice and superior. I would recommend watching the movie, but if you already have read the book, I warn you that the movie will have several changes compared to the book. I will give this movie three stars because it wasn’t a bad movie, it was just slightly different from the book which I preferred. The Giver, Phillip Noyce, August 15,2014
            • G.SFriday, May 3, 2019 at 12:01 am
              If you like movies about utopia’s/ dystopia’s such as In Time, Gattaca, and Back To The Future, then you’ll enjoy watching “The Giver.” The Giver is about Jonas's community, which was made to create a perfect society with no pain, suffering, or violence. There is no freedom, choice, or individuality. The Giver portrays a failed utopia, which means it is a dystopia where everything has gone wrong. The Elders are always watching them so when it’s time to be assigned a job they will know what job fits who the best. Jonas is told at the ceremony of 12 that he has been assigned the most honorable job in the community. Jonas is now The Receiver and the old receiver becomes The Giver. The Giver transmits memories to Jonas about the past of the world. Jonas now knows what true love, pain, and suffering is. Jonas and The Giver make a plan for Jonas to run away to elsewhere and make things back to the way they were. The book “The Giver” was very elongated and did a good job in building the suspense. The events unraveled very well over time in the book. The movie kind of just threw in all the exciting events near the beginning. It was a bit irritating to see all of these details that were changed in the movie. Overall, the movie itself is very good and entertaining. I recommend for you to read the book first and then watch the movie so you know how the original story is supposed to go. If you know it bothers you when the details are changed from the original story I recommend for you to just watch the movie or just read the book. Anyone from any age group can enjoy this movie. On a scale of 1 through 5 I would give it a four.
              • J.C.Friday, May 3, 2019 at 12:00 am
                I thought the movie “The Giver” was neither good nor bad. The movie wasn’t bad, it was missing parts that were stated in the book and the movie added parts which made me confused. For example, in the book it stated that Jonas kinda liked Fiona but in the movie it showed that they really liked each other which changed a lot of the movie. The main point of the story revolves around how their community keeps a lot of secrets from them so they can live in peacefulness instead of chaos. When Jonas found out that information when he became the giver he disagreed and decided to take action. Another thing that was different, was that they made the chief elder seem mean by questioning people and the things she said but in the book it made her seem nice and superior. I would recommend watching the movie, but if you already have read the book, I warn you that the movie will have several changes compared to the book. I will give this movie three stars because it wasn’t a bad movie, it was just slightly different from the book which I preferred. The Giver, Phillip. Noyce, August 15, 2014
                • A.W Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 11:43 pm
                  This movie was great, it also showed many similarities and differences to the movie. After watching the movie it makes you think about the book different, the movie appears to be in a very futuristic society as the book doesn’t go into great detail. On of the most notable differences from the book to the movie is the characters appearance. In both communities form the book to the movie there community was very monitored, just as the in book is closely monitored. The movie allows us to form pictures in our minds about how the characters from the books look like. I would personally rate this move 8/10, I gave it this rating because it misses out on important details from the book. The Giver 2014 Phillip Noyce
                  • T.bThursday, May 2, 2019 at 11:22 pm
                    In the movie ,”The Giver” it was pretty great even though not all the details from the book were included. An example of how the movie was as good as the book is that they represented almost the entire world as it was described in the book. Also even though the beginning was changed and replaced with a different one it gave more foreshadowing towards events, gave some background on the world, and tells who’s the main character’s friends. Then many events occur, but some small details are removed such as Jonas’s sister being eight instead of nine and the job Asher gets as a pilot. This is why I would recommend to watch this if you want to enjoy the movie as it is instead of comparing completely to the book. In the end I would give the movie at least three popcorns.
                    • A.MThursday, May 2, 2019 at 11:21 pm
                      The movie The Giver is better than the Novel because in the movie it adds a lot more feeling and suspense to the story, and it also shows some parts that were very exciting that were not in the book. For example in the novel it just says Jonas took his bike and left the community with baby Gabriel while the movie shows Jonas punching Asher, him tricking the guards by having Fiona run out of one side with the decoy baby carrier while he runs out the exit with baby Gabriel, and then the part where he jumps off the cliff with the motorcycle. That makes it look that he is going to fall but he dose t so it added a lot of excitement and suspense which is very good in a movie. Then in the book some events take like 1 or 2 hours to read while in the movie that same event takes like 15-30 minutes. In conclusion The Giver was a very good movie and it was better than the book for many reasons like it adding suspense and action to it. Overall I would give this movie a 4 out of 5 because it added a lot of excitement and suspense to the story but it also could have explained things better in the movie.