We Bought a ZooWe Bought a ZooWe Bought a ZooWe Bought a ZooWe Bought a ZooWe Bought a ZooWe Bought a ZooWe Bought a Zoo
We Bought a Zoo

We Bought a Zoo (2011)

Rated PG 124 min - Drama Comedy Family
Benjamin has lost his wife and, in a bid to start his life over, purchases a large house that has a zoo – welcome news for his daughter, but his son is not happy about it. The zoo is in need of renovation and Benjamin sets about the work with the head keeper and the rest of the staff, but, the zoo soon runs into financial trouble.

Directors: Cameron Crowe

Cast: Matt Damon, Scarlett Johansson, Thomas Haden Church, Colin Ford, and Maggie Elizabeth Jones

Release Date: December 23, 2011

49 Movie Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nevaeh124
    nevaeh124Tuesday, April 16, 2019 at 4:38 pm
    That was a cute movie and I liked it a lot that time a lot of work to make that zoo and they really deserved itπŸ˜‚πŸ˜ πŸ˜°
    • doggieelsie12
      doggieelsie12Sunday, April 29, 2018 at 7:32 am55 popcorn
      A few years ago I watched this movie for the first time, and it has been my all time favorite ever since. This movie is about a single dad that needs to start over. As they are looking at new houses, he comes across a house that is perfect for his family, but is an abandon zoo. They move into the house and meet the workers that live there. Throughout the movie there are a lot of ups and downs to bring the zoo back together. I would recommend this movie for girls and boys 10+ because even though it is a really good movie, it has some curse words in it. Over all I really like this movie.
      • richlynn08
        richlynn08Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 2:14 pm
        this movie is sad and funny:)
        • hummingbird1
          hummingbird1Monday, November 27, 2017 at 7:36 pm44 popcornFeatured
          Over Thanksgiving break, I watched We Bought A Zoo with my sisters. It ended up being a pretty good movie. Benjamin Mee is a single dad. His wife recently died, and he is raising a seven year old girl and a fourteen year old boy on his own. It is a tough life, and gets even tougher when his fourteen year old is expelled from school and they are forced to move. When they are looking for a house, they find one that they love, but find out that the land is a run down zoo. Benjamin decides to buy the house and get the zoo up and running again. We Bought A Zoo is a really cool movie. It has a really neat storyline. I recommend this movie to boys and girls ages 8+.
          • hpfan
            hpfanTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 7:46 am
            This movie is about a amazing true story about a single dad who thinks his family needs a ¨fresh¨ start. He and his two children move to a zoo. When something bad happens, the dad fights to save what he loves: the humans and the animals at the zoo. This heartwarming story will sure make you laugh, cry, and make you joyful. People who go through struggles will always remember this movie as their favorite movie from 2011.
            • #animalloverSaturday, April 8, 2017 at 6:13 pm
              Such an awesome movie. The little girl is my favorite character because she was so adorable! IT IS A MUST WATCH!
              • vmackenzie
                vmackenzieSaturday, January 2, 2016 at 12:07 pm44 popcorn
                I found the movie to be very entertaining because I have an interest in wildlife animals and the little girl is very cute! My rating would be 4 popcorn because there is some cuss words in it though. Love the movie and I would recommend it to anyone!
                • kimberly56
                  kimberly56Friday, April 10, 2015 at 3:46 pm
                  this movie is so great and the little girl is so so so cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • redheadperson22
                    redheadperson22Thursday, April 9, 2015 at 7:31 am33 popcornFeatured
                    A man's wife dies so he decides to buy a house that happens to be on a zoo and move there with his kids. What I thought of it: My favorite characters were the man's 2 kids. Liked the man though too. But 1 character I didn't like was the lady who worked at the zoo. I found her relationship with the man both gross and unnecessary. There was absolutely no reason for them to like each other. And I'm pretty sure she was a lot younger than him. Not to mention the fact that his wife only died 6 months ago. I thought that their relationship was so wrong that it pretty much ruined the entire movie for me. If it hadn't been for that, I would have given it 4 stars because the movie was actually pretty good minus that. Overall, it was a good movie but it could've been better.
                    • anasta
                      anastaTuesday, March 17, 2015 at 9:14 pm55 popcorn
                      This is such a cool movie and its great to watch it with your family. :p